Why Our Certifications and Designations Matter

The Bender Private Wealth Management Group of Wells Fargo Advisors is dedicated to continued education and growth, and is committed to attaining respected certifications and designations in our field. These credentials give us the necessary training to better serve our clients in many different areas of wealth management, retirement benefits consulting, and institutional consulting.


CFP® professionals must develop their theoretical and practical knowledge by meeting rigorous education, examination, experience, and ethics requirements as set forth by the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. A financial advisor with the CFP® certification has completed training on nearly 100 integrated financial topics, including: General principles of financial strategies, Insurance planning and risk management,  Employee benefits planning and Retirement and estate planning. In addition to finishing the coursework on financial topics, the candidate is required to have earned a bachelor’s degree (or higher) or its equivalent, in any discipline, from an accredited college or university.

Certified Investment Management Analyst

Certified Investment Management Analyst® (CIMA®) is a professional certification for financial advisors and investment consultants in advanced portfolio construction. The program requires completing a sophisticated investment curriculum to help financial advisors meet the real-world needs of individual and institutional investors. The CIMA certification program covers five core topic areas and requires that candidates meet all eligibility requirements, including experience, education, examination, and ethics.

Chartered Financial Analyst

A Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA®) charter is a designation given to those who have completed the CFA® Program and completed acceptable work experience requirements.

The CFA Program is a three-part exam that tests the fundamentals of investment tools, valuing assets, portfolio management, and wealth planning. The CFA Program is typically completed by those with backgrounds in finance, accounting, economics, or business. CFA charterholders earn the right to use the CFA designation after program completion, application, and acceptance by CFA Institute. CFA charterholders are qualified to work in senior and executive positions in investment management, risk management, asset management, and more.

Certified 401(k) Professional

The C(k)P® designation represents individuals who have demonstrated competency and experience in the retirement field, completed a rigorous and unique education course work experience, and agreed to adhere to a code of conduct and ethics.

Chartered Retirement Planning Counselor

Individuals who hold the CRPC® designation have completed a course of study encompassing pre-and post-retirement needs, asset management, estate planning and the entire retirement planning process. Additionally, individuals must pass an end-of-course examination that tests their ability to address an array of client situations using the various types of plans and models studied. All designees have agreed to adhere to Standards of Professional Conduct and are subject to a disciplinary process. Designees renew their designation every two-years by completing 16 hours of continuing education.