What Our Designations Mean.png
We believe the specialties represented by our professional designations are an added benefit when reviewing your investment plan. Whether you are planning for retirement, planning for a transfer of wealth, or diversifying your portfolio, we’re able to help with your specific needs.

Here’s an explanation of each of the designations:
Accredited Asset Management SpecialistSM _AAMS®_.png

Nelson Patterson

The AAMS® program provides advisors with strong fundamental financial knowledge with a specific focus on asset management and investments. Individuals who hold this designation have completed a course of study encompassing investments, insurance, tax, retirement, and estate planning issues. Additionally, individuals must pass an end-of-course examination that tests their ability to synthesize complex concepts and apply theoretical concepts to real-life situations.

Certified Investment Management Analyst® _CIMA®_.png

J.P. Mackay

CIMA® professionals integrate a complex body of investment knowledge, ethically contributing to prudent investment decisions by providing objective advice and guidance to individual investors and institutional investors. The CIMA® certification program is the only credential designed specifically for financial professionals who want to attain a level of competency as an advanced investment consultant. The CIMA® certification program covers five core topic areas and requires that candidates meet all eligibility requirements, including experience, education, examination, and ethics.

HeartlandFCG_Website_A5Chartered Retirement Plans SpecialistSM _CRPS®_.png

Scott Farmer

The CRPS® designation enables financial advisors and other professionals to demonstrate their expertise in administering retirement plans for businesses and wholesale clients. The CRPS® program addresses topics such as the types and characteristics of retirement plans, IRAs, SEP, SIMPLE, 401(k), and defined benefit plans. It also includes coursework that covers non-profit and government plans, qualified and IRA distributions, plan design, installation, and administration, and fiduciary issues. It is offered exclusively by the College for Financial Planning®.
Accredited Investment Fiduciary® _AIF®_.png

Ken E. Hayes; Scott Farmer

The Accredited Investment Fiduciary® (AIF®) designation is a professional certification that demonstrates a professional has a fundamental understanding of the principles of fiduciary duty, the standards of conduct for acting as a fiduciary, and a process for carrying out fiduciary responsibility. Financial professionals who are fiduciaries have a legal and ethical obligation to prioritize their clients’ best interests above their own, and to manage any assets or resources entrusted to them with the utmost care and responsibility.

Chartered Financial Consultant _ChFC®_.png

J.P. Mackay

The ChFC® program covers a lengthy list of requirements for financial advisors, from knowledge on tax and retirement planning to special needs advising, wealth management, insurance, and more. This program is currently issued through the American College of Financial Services. Candidates must have three years of full-time business experience within the five years preceding the awarding of the designation; and a high school diploma or the equivalent. Professionals who hold this designation have completed eight required online training courses and a closed book, proctored final exam.

Ken E. Hayes; Don Morris; J.P. Mackay

CFP® professionals must develop their theoretical and practical knowledge by completing a comprehensive course of study at a college or university offering a curriculum approved by the CFP Board and pass the comprehensive CFP® Certification Exam. The exam is scheduled to take 10 hours to complete and tests each candidate’s knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis, and synthesis of financial topics. They must also complete several years of experience related to delivering planning services to clients prior to earning the right to use the CFP® certification trademarks. CFP® professionals are held to the highest of standards, as outlined in CFP Board’s Standards of Professional Conduct. They are obliged to uphold the principles of integrity, objectivity, competence, fairness, confidentiality, professionalism, and diligence as outlined in the CFP Board’s Code of Ethics.

Chartered Retirement Planning Counselor _CRPC®_.png

Ken E. Hayes

Individuals who hold the CRPC® designation have demonstrated their expertise in retirement planning for individuals. CRPC® professionals have completed a course of study encompassing pre-and post-retirement needs, asset management, estate planning and the entire retirement planning process using models and techniques from real client situations. Additionally, individuals must pass an end-of-course examination that tests their ability to synthesize complex concepts and apply theoretical concepts to real-life situations.